Part 1 What Paint Can Do, Opaque colour mixing

 

 

For this exercise I had to choose 3 of my previous washes and try and duplicate it mixing with white. Then compare them side by side, the exercise was to help me think of ways these different ways of using paint can be worked.

I found this a difficult exercise not only because Acrylic dries darker than seen when painting but its behaviour is also different.  The white used within this exercise was Titanium White.

The top yellow and blue just didn’t mix in the same manner, so I found it impossible to duplicate there was a less subtle exchange of pigment and the colour mixed with white was far more solid, it seemed to hold less light, the colours used were Ultramarine Blue and Cadmium Yellow. Although they did produce the expected green as I kept the acrylic wet it was a much more linear exchange.

The second was Ultramarine Blue this worked better and although I didn’t get the colour exact it worked well, unfortunately again things looked great when the paint was wet but the lighter parts of the picture dried too dark and it is something I am going to have to get to grips with and practice. I am not used to acrylic and this is a great learning curve.

The third is a mix of Cadmium Yellow and Alizarin Crimson to create orange, this I felt was the most successful not because I manage to get the colour correct I didn’t, I had fallen into the same problem as before and the colour was too dark. However the gradation was much smoother. Rather than keep the paint moist I worked hard at mixing the colour with white on the paper at a greater speed. I was pleased with the result even though the colour was still not a match.

Finally I had to look at the various ways in which the two types of application would work together. There must be numerous ways in which they can be used. Washes over a dried opaque mix could offer a tint of a colour. Opaque mix over a wash could cover up mistakes underneath. Many tints can be made with wash and white incorporation. The wash is far more delicate and can show underpainting so a good use would be for areas where a more delicate touch is needed in flowers, sky, water, tinted washes. Where the opaque mix will be good for solid items within the painting that need statement, and for covering areas which I may wish to erase.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

