Part 1, Exercise 1 Getting to know your brushes.

FROM MEMORY099
Landscape From Memory
apple scan
Fruit

I was to start by exploring my brushes making a range of marks and shapes that can be made with them. Use flats, rounds, filberts. I tried various marks and also had a quick go at some seed heads. Someone had given me a pad of canvas so I painted them on that. I just had fun and tried various thickness of paint and different paper. The first lot was painted on A1 taking notes as to which brushes were used and what they were best for. Grass worked really well with a dry brush which I found out unexpectedly whilst exploring.

Next from memory I had to draw a small simple landscape about A4 in size, using large brushes so I am not distracted by the urge to include detail. Concentrate on the possibilities and patterns made by the bush marks. Then after the experimenting I was to draw a piece of fruit using the techniques, taking care to set the fruit in direct light to help define the form.

I don’t mind admitting anything from mind scares me. My brain doesn’t have the ability to recall landscape I haven’t done them enough, however I had just drawn a wood for my final piece in Drawing 1 so I decided to draw one. I used a large one inch flat and a filbert to do the piece, not my best piece of work, but it was great fun. I dry brushed grasses and washed the background colour using the paint in various thickness throughout. My strokes were varied and it was a fun piece.

Watercolour is the only paint I have used so this is going to be a huge learning curve. Acrylic was my chosen paint and I first watch some videos and read up about how to use it. Not an easy task to use, but oil would be difficult as I don’t have a good place to leave wet oil paintings to dry, without my animals deciding to add to the look. Acrylic dry quickly and I tried to look at the problems before I began. The brushes were great fun, I had only used rounds and a big flat I didn’t realise the shapes and line you could make, nor how fine a line can be done by using the fine side of the brush. Some beautiful shapes can be got by turning the flat brushes as you use them.

After trying out the brushes not only with changing mark, I altered the surface and the thickness of the paint. I tried my landscape, I don’t mind admitting anything from mind scares me. My brain doesn’t have the ability to recall landscape I haven’t done them enough, however I had just drawn a wood for my final piece in Drawing 1 so I decided to draw one. I used a large one inch flat and a filbert to do the piece, not my best piece of work, but it was great fun. I dry brushed grasses and washed the background colour using the paint in various thickness throughout. My strokes were varied and it was a fun piece.

For the fruit I chose an Apple and decided to paint it on a sheet of canvass which I primed in Gesso. Part way through I began to panic as it looked more like a Pepper but after various layers of paint it began to look like an Apple and I was pleased with the end painting.

Leave a Reply

